Thread: Experience count toward Licensing?

Background Checks

My question is.......... I started a business 2 years ago conducting background checks for area companies. Before starting this business I had my attorney check this out to make sure I did not have to have a private investigators license to do this. He stated that I was allowed to report to companies I have contracted with under the Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 604 15 USC 1681b Permissible Purposes Sub Section 3 B and I was using Public Information. He instructed me to make sure I had the company require the applicant to sign a release to conduct a background check and to carry insurance for the company. Also I would need to apply for a Federal ID number and it might be a good idea to Incorporate. He also stated that there were other sections in the FCRA that this business would fall under and he didnt see a problem with it. Well being a judge at one time like he was, and being a very good attorney I decided to start the company. Well its been 2 yrs now and I have learned alot. Its been a great business and have had no problems ....knock on wood.
    My question is : Since I have had experience in this line of work, can this count as time spent to aquire my license. I am really wanting to get my license here in Ohio. I do have some college background and have checked into obtaining my license.
    Thank You for any response.

P.S. I have signed up for the trainee program at this site. I am so glad I found this site. I feel you can never learn enough and I'm really looking forward to everything that this site has to offer and what I have learned over the years to share. Thanks to everyone that has made this site what it is....GOOD JOB!!!
    Last edited by R. Earle Goode -; 02-06-2002 at 11:39 AM.
    R.E. Goode

Sounds like a good question for the legal department to me.