Thread: Question about serving papers

Question about serving papers

I have a question. If a process server is asked to deliver documents to someone at an address other than their place of residence, and someone else (who is also not living there) opens the door and except the documents. Is this person considered served? I am going through and looking at different scenarios and was wondering if there is an answer for one such as this.

Distinguished Member:
    Private Investigators Forum Member
    Good question, Denetra.

I am not a process server. But....I am guessing it depends on the laws in your state. I'm confident someone with more experience will be along soon to assist you better.

Meanwhile, you might want to check out the Process Servers forum. You may find some information there.

Thank Kanda

I appreciate your response. I will check out that forum again. I didnt see the exact answer to the question but maybe someone has answered since I last visited.

Denetra

Valentino Raboteaux Guest
    416.70. A summons may be served on a person (other than a minor) for whom a guardian, conservator, or similar fiduciary has been appointed by delivering a copy of the summons and of the complaint to his guardian, conservator, or similar fiduciary and to such person, but, for good cause shown, the court in which the action is pending may dispense with delivery to such person.

416.80. When authorized by Section 11 of the Elections Code, a
    summons may be served as provided by that section.

416.90. A summons may be served on a person not otherwise specified in this article by delivering a copy of the summons and of the complaint to such person or to a person authorized by him to receive service of process.

Hope this helps.

Thanks

Thanks for this information. It does help.

Hi