Thread: Requirements for licensing firearms and for concealment permits

requirements for licensing firearms and for concealment permits

what are the legal specifications to have a handgun concealment permit after having served time for a felony in the same state.?
    RICHARD HEIDEMAN

William R. Larson - is offline (Retired from Forum Activity)

Former Sr. Distinguished Member:
    Private Investigators Forum

Handgun and felons

It is my understanding that a felon in possession of a handgun is in illegal possession of a firearm. Therefore a convicted felon should have LESS of a chance of getting a permit to carry concealed as it is illegal for them to be in possession of a handgun in the first place. I do not know the details regarding a rifle/shotgun/whatever, but I would believe that the standard would be similar.

Felons with handguns and drugs, just say NO!

PS - I am by no means an expert in this area, and I may be wrong. This is just to the best of my understanding. Either way, please let me know if it is or is not correct. Thanks!

This web link might help you:

http://www.packing.org/state/index.jsp/missouri

Not being from my state, the laws may vary but...

In Maine, a felon may, after 5 years have passed since all sentence specifications have been satisfied, apply for Executive Clemency. This would free your record of CONVICTION only and allow concealed carry. Otherwise, after the same time has elapsed, you may apply to the Commissioner of Public Safety for a permit to POSSES a non-concealed firearm.

Otherwise, it is illegal for a felon to posses a firearm in the State of Maine.

Jim

Unhappy

In reading about concealing a weapon in KS, I have found that it is really veg. I will do some more research and post what I find out.

Depends on the State, for MA its...

Here in MA, the laws are farely new and updated, but as an easy to understand basic, it works like this.

First, their are 4 type's of Permits/Licenses :